Bill is getting the 2019 Gold Medal from ASA!

Our founder, Bill Cavanaugh, is being honored with the 2019 Gold Medal from Acoustical Society of America “for practical applications to building design and education in architectural acoustics, and for service to the Society.” We couldn’t agree more.

The Gold medal is presented annually to an individual whose contributions to the field of acoustics and to the Acoustical Society have been unusually distinguished. 

In 1994 Bill received the ASA Distinguished Service Award, and in 2006 he was awarded the ASA Silver medal in Architectural Acoustics, also known as the Sabine medal.  This medal is awarded once every three years to a member who has made significant contributions in the area of architectural acoustics.

Raised in Charlestown Massachusetts, Bill attended Boston Latin high school and then went to MIT to study architecture.  During his consulting career, Bill taught courses in Architectural Acoustics at Boston Architectural Center, Rhode Island School of Design, and Roger Williams University.  Many of Bill’s students are working at firms in New England and beyond.

Bill’s ideas and initiatives within the Acoustical Society (ASA) are substantial.  He was the founder of the Robert B. Newman Student Award Fund, a program that has helped increase interest and awareness of acoustics in architecture.  Bill organized the first summer institute of the Concert Hall Research Group, held in 1999 at Tanglewood.   It was Bill’s idea to compile posters of auditorium projects from an ASA poster session into a book, which became the first of a series of poster books including Halls for Music Performance, Worship Spaces, Drama Spaces, and Music Education Facilities.

Bill has been active in other professional societies related to acoustics, including the Institute for Noise Control Engineering (INCE) and the National Council of Acoustical Consultants (NCAC).  He has served as President of INCE and NCAC.  In 2015 he received the INCE Laymon N. Miller award for Excellence in Acoustical Consulting.  This award is given annually to an individual in the acoustical consulting community who embodies the qualities of the late Laymon N. Miller — teacher, scientist, innovator—and who has practiced acoustical consulting in an exemplary manner.